Using Aladdin eToken from inside a virtual machine (VirtualBox etc.)

19 06 2010

Hey,

I’m a real fan of VirtualBox and i use version 3.2.4 on my windows 7 ultimate 64bit,

Today i tried using a usb etoken from Aladdin on my windows XP pro guest and to my surprise it didn’t work,

i looked all over the documentation and tried to filter my usb token, i tried what not and it refused to work,

when performing the command “VBoxManage list usbhost”  i could see all my other usb devices like my usb printer, usb drive etc. and in the filter screen i was offered to filter everything usb But not the etoken,

then it hit me! I recalled that Remote Desktop is possible of mapping smart-cards, printers, drives and other PNP devices, that was exactly what i needed,

I put my evil-genius smile and connected to the guest xp via RDP and saw that the etoken had mapped well and i was able to use it (i previously installed the etoken drivers on the guest of course),

this is how it looks like before i used the RDP workaround

the PKI client is on the Host and in the background the Guest is token-less.

and this is from inside the RDP session:

I think Oracle has a thing or two to learn from Microsoft when it comes to ease of use – especially with peripherals,

and as for this workaround i think this might be useful in more than one cases where one needs to connect a device using usb to a VM,

Goodbye for now, IT.Never.Ends..

Actions

Information

One response

28 06 2010
Using Aladdin eToken from inside a virtual machine (VirtualBox etc.) (via SysAdmin’s Home on the WWW) « Chicago Mac/PC Support

[…] Hey, I'm a real fan of VirtualBox and i use version 3.2.4 on my windows 7 ultimate 64bit, Today i tried using a usb etoken from Aladdin on my windows XP pro guest and to my surprise it didn't work, i looked all over the documentation and tried to filter my usb token, i tried what not and it refused to work, when performing the command "VBoxManage list usbhost"  i could see all my other usb devices like my usb printer, usb drive etc. and in the fi … Read More […]




